The Best Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options at 10 Chains (2023)

If you’re new to the gluten-free concept, whether you were recently advised by your doctor to scale back or simply taking it upon yourself to try following a gluten-free (GF) diet, you might assume that this means all fast food is off the table. This can be especially challenging if you love a good burger or sandwich, since not every restaurant carries gluten-free buns or offers alternative options to wrap up your sammy’s contents. However, there are actually plenty of gluten-free fast food menu options available to eat—the key to identifying these items is first knowing where to look and then what to look for.

To help make this search easier for you, below is a breakdown of the best gluten-free fast-food menu items you can find at a handful of go-to, fast-food spots. But before you can choose the best gluten-free fast-food meal for you, it’s important to understand some of the motives behind why people eat GF food. This understanding can inform some of your decision-making the next time you visit a drive-thru.

Why eat gluten-free fast food?

The Best Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options at 10 Chains (1)

“For those who have celiac disease, gluten-free is a necessity, not a preference. This means that if they want to eat fast food or go through a drive-thru, they only can if the fast food chain offers gluten-free options,” says Amy Goodson, MS, RD, CSSD, LD, author of The Sports Nutrition Playbook and member of our Expert Medical Board. “There are others who might eat gluten-free due to preference, meaning that they are not allergic to gluten and it may not make them sick, they just choose not to eat it for a variety of reasons.”

Trista Best, MPH, RD, LD, at Balance One Supplements, notes three reasons why people may opt to eat gluten-free fast food:

  1. CeliacDisease: “People withceliacdisease have an autoimmune reaction togluten, which damages their small intestine,” explains Best. “This can lead to a range of symptoms, including abdominal pain, diarrhea,andfatigue. For people withceliacdisease, consuming even small amounts ofglutencan be harmful. Eatinggluten-freemeals at fast-food restaurants can help them avoidglutenandmanage their condition.”
  2. Gluten Sensitivity: “Some people may have a sensitivity to gluten, which can cause symptoms such as bloating, gas, and diarrhea,” says Best. “While not as severe as celiac disease, gluten sensitivity can still cause discomfort and impact a person’s quality of life. Eating gluten-free meals at fast-food restaurants can help them avoid gluten and reduce their symptoms.”
  3. General Health & Wellness: “Some people may choose to eat gluten-free meals as part of a healthy and balanced diet,” says Best. “While not necessary for everyone, some people believe that reducing their gluten intake can lead to improved digestion, better energy levels, and other health benefits. Eating gluten-free meals at fast-food restaurants can be a convenient way to stick to their dietary preferences while on the go.”

Is gluten unhealthy to eat?

“For these individuals, they might seek out fast food chains that serve gluten-free items to match their eating pattern,” explains Goodson. “While some perceive gluten-free foods to be ‘healthier’ than others that contain gluten, that is just not true. Gluten is a protein in wheat and is not bad for you unless you are allergic to it.”

RELATED: 7 Best Gluten-Free Breads Beyond the Average Loaf

How have restaurants become more accommodating to GF eaters?

The Best Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options at 10 Chains (2)

More Gluten-Free Menu Items

“Many fast-food restaurants now offer gluten-free menu items—such as buns, wraps, and pizza crusts—to cater to customers with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity,” says Best. “Some restaurants also offer gluten-free sauces and dressings. Examples of fast-food restaurants that offer gluten-free options include Chick-fil-A, McDonald’s, and Taco Bell.”

Allergen Information Transparency

“Fast-food restaurants are required by law to provide allergen information, including information about gluten, on their menus,” says Best. “Many restaurants now provide this information on their websites or through allergen guides available in-store. This information can help people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity make informed decisions about what to order.”


“Some fast-food restaurants have partnered with gluten-free brands to offer more options for customers,” says Best. “For example, Subway [and Smashburger] partnered with gluten-free brand Udi’s to offer gluten-free bread.”

Training & Procedures

“Fast-food restaurants have also implemented training and procedures to reduce the risk of cross-contamination, which is a concern for people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity,” says Best. “This may include separate preparation areas for gluten-free items, using dedicated utensils and equipment, and providing staff with training on how to handle gluten-free orders.”

What to be mindful of when dining out on a GF diet

“People who follow a gluten-free diet should be mindful of potential health risks when eating at a fast-food restaurant,” says Best. “Cross-contamination is a common concern, as gluten-free foods may come into contact with gluten-containing foods during preparation. This can happen through shared utensils, cooking surfaces, or fryers.”

“Additionally, some gluten-free options may still contain small amounts of gluten, which can be harmful to people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity,” warns Best. “It’s important to ask about preparation methods, read labels, and communicate any dietary restrictions to the restaurant staff to reduce the risk of cross-contamination and ensure a safe dining experience.”

If you’re vocal about your needs, ask questions, and are careful to read all the fine print on the labels, figuring out which menu items are actually gluten-free can be a breeze. However, we know when you need to grab something and go, reviewing long menus with a fine-toothed comb is easier said than done. So to help you order a genuinely gluten-free fast-food meal in a flash, we took the liberty of identifying a few of the best gluten-free fast-food items you can order at 10 fast-food spots.

RELATED: 60 Healthy, Low-Calorie Fast-Food Meals Under 500 Calories

The Best Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options at 10 Chains (3)

“McDonald’s does not currently certify any of its menu items as gluten-free, meaning there is no guarantee against cross-contamination for any of their foods,” notes Goodson. “Since McDonald’s no longer offers salads, gluten-free options are limited, but include a plain beef patty (without the bun), fruit and maple oatmeal, Canadian bacon, scrambled eggs, sausage, and a side of apple slices,” she suggests. “You can also opt for their strawberry banana or mango pineapple smoothie.”


Because McDonald’s doesn’t have a separate GF menu and only discloses which ingredients list wheat as an allergen, we did the sleuthing for you! Here’s a roundup of everything you can get that’s gluten-free on the McDonald’s menu.


  • Fruit and Maple Oatmeal
  • Fruit and Yogurt Parfait (Without Low-Fat Crunchy Granola)
  • Egg Patty
  • Ham Slice
  • Sausage Patty
  • Canadian Bacon
  • Thick-Cut Applewood Smoked Bacon Slice


  • Burger Patty
  • Artisan Grilled Chicken Filet


  • Southwest Grilled Chicken Salad
  • Bacon Ranch Grilled Chicken Salad
  • Side Salad

Sides and Snacks

  • Apple Slices
  • Yoplait® GO-GURT® Low Fat Strawberry Yogurt


  • Strawberry Banana Smoothie
  • Mango Pineapple Smoothie
  • McFlurry® with M&M’s® Candies
  • Chocolate Shake
  • Strawberry Shake
  • Vanilla Shake
  • Hot Fudge Sundae
  • Hot Caramel Sundae
  • Strawberry Sundae
  • Reduced-Fat Vanilla Ice Cream (In a Cup Instead of a Cone)
  • Caramel Frappé
  • Mocha Frappé

RELATED: The Best & Worst Menu Items at McDonald’s, According to RDs

The Best Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options at 10 Chains (4)

When it comes to allergens and food sensitivities, Taco Bell has done a great job at providing options able to accommodate all dietary needs, including offering gluten-free fast-food menu items. And just because you have to avoid gluten does not mean you have to miss out on Taco Tuesday! Here’s everything you can get that’s gluten-free at Taco Bell.



  • Crunchy Taco
  • Crunchy Taco Supreme®
  • Nacho Cheese Doritos® Locos Taco
  • Nacho Cheese Doritos® Locos Taco Supreme®


  • Power Menu Bowl—Chicken
  • Power Menu Bowl—Steak
  • Power Menu Bowl—Veggie

Veggie Cravings

  • Black Beans & Rice
  • Black Beans
The Best Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options at 10 Chains (5)

Wendy’s offers a variety of delicious gluten-free ingredients and menu items, too. But similar to McDonald’s or Burger King, you should definitely make your dietary needs and preferences known up front when ordering, so they can be on guard when preparing your food. Next time you’re at Wendy’s, choose from any of these delicious a la carte gluten-free items to assemble a filling meal.

RELATED: The Wendy’s Breakfast Menu—Ranked by Nutrition!


(Video) Where to Order Gluten-Free Fast Food (Tips from a Celiac Dietitian)

  • Sausage Patty
  • Applewood Smoked Bacon
  • Egg Patty
  • Cranberry Pecan Oatmeal
  • Plain Oatmeal



  • Apple Pecan Chicken Salad
  • Harvest Chicken Salad
  • Parmesan Chicken Caesar Salad
  • Southwest Avocado Chicken Salad
  • Taco Salad
  • Caesar Side Salad (Without Croutons)
  • Garden Side Salad (Without Croutons)

Sides and Snacks

  • Apple Bites
  • Chili
  • Plain Baked Potato
  • Sour Cream and Chive Baked Potato
  • Bacon Cheese Baked Potato
  • Chili and Cheese Baked Potato
  • Cheese Baked Potato


  • Classic Chocolate Frosty®
  • Vanilla Frosty®
The Best Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options at 10 Chains (6)

Unfortunately, many of Arby’s potato-centric sides, like the crispy curly fries, contain wheat. The potato cakes and crinkle fries, though technically do not contain gluten-based ingredients, might be cooked in oils that may have experienced cross-contamination with wheat-based products. However, there are plenty of ways to place a delicious, gluten-free fast food order at Arby’s and still get your fill.


  • Breakfast Bacon
  • Sausage Patty
  • Scrambled Egg Patty


  • Angus Beef
  • Corned Beef
  • Pepper Bacon
  • Roast Beef
  • Pit-Smoked Ham
  • Roast Turkey
  • Smoked Brisket


  • Chopped Farmhouse Salad—Roast Turkey
  • Chopped Side Salad

Sides and Snacks


  • Jamocha Shake
  • Chocolate Shake
  • Vanilla Shake
The Best Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options at 10 Chains (7)

Yas, gluten-free king (or queen)! It’s true that you can really have it your way when you dine at BK. Though Burger King appears to longer have a designated GF menu, many of its items are still GF-friendly. However, if allergies are of concern, just be sure to communicate your dietary needs clearly upfront so that they can accommodate your needs; they will gladly do you a solid by removing the bun, among other things. Here are the best GF menu selections from Burger King.


  • Bacon Slice
  • Ham Slice
  • Egg Patty
  • Sausage Patty
  • Oatmeal


  • WHOPPER® Patty
  • WHOPPER JR.® Patty
  • Hamburger Patty



  • French Fries
  • Mott’s Natural Applesauce

Smoothies & Specialty Drinks

(Video) Gluten Free Fast Food Review | Restricted Kitchen

  • Strawberry Banana Smoothie
  • Mocha Frappe
  • Caramel Frappe


  • Soft Serve in a Cup
  • Hershey’s Chocolate Sundae
  • Vanilla Shake
  • Hershey’s Chocolate Shake
The Best Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options at 10 Chains (8)

“Fil” up on these tasty gluten-free fast food orders from Chick-Fil-A today!


  • Bacon Slice
  • Sausage Patty
  • Hash Browns
  • Hash Brown Scramble Bowl With Grilled Filet
  • Hash Brown Scramble Bowl With Sausage


  • Grilled Chicken Filet on Gluten-Free Bun
  • Grilled Nuggets


  • Market Salad With a Grilled Filet (plain or spicy)
  • Cobb Salad With Grilled Nuggets, Grilled Filet, or Without Chicken
  • Spicy Southwest Salad With Grilled Nuggets, Grilled Filet, or Without Chicken
  • Side Salad


  • Fruit Cup
  • Side Salad
  • Kale Crunch Side Salad
  • Waffle Potato Fries™
  • Waffle Potato Chips™
  • Cinnamon Applesauce (Buddy Fruits®)
  • Greek Yogurt Parfait


  • Chocolate Milkshake
  • Strawberry Milkshake
  • Vanilla Milkshake
  • Frosted Coffee
  • Frosted Lemonade
  • Frosted Key Lime
The Best Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options at 10 Chains (9)

Chipotle makes quality gluten-free fast-food dining na-cho problem anymore, thanks to its wide range of gluten-free ingredients.


  • Barbacoa
  • Black Beans
  • Carnitas
  • Chicken
  • Chorizo
  • Pinto Beans
  • Sofritas
  • Steak


  • Crispy Corn Tortilla
  • Tortilla Chips


  • Cilantro-Lime Brown Rice
  • Cilantro-Lime White Rice
The Best Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options at 10 Chains (10)

Though KFC’s entrees are not ideal for gluten-free eaters, combining an order with a few of their a la carte sides can make for a delicious gluten-free lunch or dinner. These options are also great for vegetarians, too!

Salads (Without Dressing or Croutons)

  • Caesar Side Salad
  • House Side Salad


  • Coleslaw
  • Corn on the Cob
  • Green Beans
  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Potato Salad
  • Sweet Kernel Corn
The Best Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options at 10 Chains (11)

With a name like “Panera Bread,” you might assume everything this franchise offers must be tainted with gluten. But ye of little gluten-free faith—fret not! Panera does provide gluten-conscious menu items comprised of ingredients that do not contain wheat.


(Video) How To Order Gluten-Free Fast Food Like A Pro!

  • Greek Yogurt With Mixed Berries
  • Eggs Any Style: Over Easy Egg, Scrambled Egg, Egg Whites, or Hardboiled


  • Green Goddess Cobb Salad With Chicken
  • Fuji Apple Salad With or Without Chicken
  • Greek Salad With or Without Chicken
  • Tomato Basil Cucumber Side Salad


  • Chicken Tikka Masala With Brown Rice and Quinoa
  • Turkey Chili With Beans
  • Thai Chicken

Warm Bowls

  • Baja Bowl With or Without Chicken
  • Mediterranean Bowl With or Without Chicken


  • Strawberry Smoothie With Greek Yogurt
  • Mango Smoothie With Greek Yogurt
  • Strawberry Banana Smoothie With Greek Yogurt
  • Peach & Blueberry Smoothie With Almond Milk
  • Green Passion Smoothie
The Best Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options at 10 Chains (12)

If you’re hankering a juicy burger or creamy shake, Smashburger’s selection will really hit the spot. In addition to offering a wide variety of customizable menu options, their option to opt for a burger using an Udi’s Gluten-Free Buns make it one of the few burger chains around that provides a GF-substitute akin to a classic burger. Best of all, you can use the interactive menu online to filter the down selections to see everything that can be made gluten-free.

Here’s everything you can get that’s gluten-free at Smashburger.

Beef & Turkey Burgers

  • Classic Smash
  • Classic Double Smash
  • Bacon Smash
  • Double Bacon Smash
  • Avocado Bacon Club
  • Double Avocado Bacon Club
  • BBQ Bacon Cheddar
  • DoubleBBQ Bacon Cheddar
  • Smoked Bacon Brisket
  • Double Smoked Bacon Brisket
  • Truffle Mushroom Swiss
  • Double Truffle Mushroom Swiss

Black Bean Burgers

  • Classic Smash
  • Avocado Bacon Club
  • Bacon Smash
  • BBQ Bacon Cheddar
  • Truffle Mushroom Swiss

Chicken Sandwiches

  • Classic Smash Grilled Chicken
  • Classic Smash Crispy Chicken
  • Bacon Smash Grilled Chicken
  • Bacon Smash Crispy Chicken
  • BBQ Bacon Cheddar Grilled Chicken
  • BBQ Bacon Cheddar Crispy Chicken
  • Avocado Bacon Club Grilled Chicken
  • Avocado Bacon Club Crispy Chicken
  • Truffle Mushroom Swiss Grilled Chicken
  • Truffle Mushroom Swiss Crispy Chicken


  • Buffalo Wings
  • Garlic Rosemary Wings
  • Plain Wings
  • Scorchin’ Hot Wings
  • BBQ Wings

Fresh Salads


  • French Fries
  • Smash Fries (with rosemary and olive oil)
  • Tots
  • Smash Tots (with rosemary and olive oil)
  • Sweet Potato Fries
  • Sweet Potato Smash Fries (with rosemary and olive oil)
  • Crispy Brussels Sprouts


  • Chocolate Shake
  • Strawberry Shake
  • Vanilla Shake
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Shake
  • Non-Dairy Reese’s Shake
  • Non-Dairy Chocolate Shake
  • Non-Dairy Strawberry Shake
  • Non-Dairy Vanilla Shake

The Best Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options at 10 Chains (13)

Sign up for our newsletter!

(Video) Top 5 gluten free fast food chains


The Best Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options at 10 Chains? ›

If you have a gluten sensitivity unfortunately KFC (Kentucky Fried Chicken) is not the place to eat chicken. None of KFC's chicken is gluten-free. You can, however, eat some of their side dishes and salads.

Does KFC have gluten-free food? ›

If you have a gluten sensitivity unfortunately KFC (Kentucky Fried Chicken) is not the place to eat chicken. None of KFC's chicken is gluten-free. You can, however, eat some of their side dishes and salads.

Is Wendy's Frosty gluten-free? ›

Yes, Wendy's Frosty's are gluten-free. According to the ingredients list on the Wendy's website, Frosty's are made from milk, sugar, corn syrup, cream, whey, nonfat dry milk, cocoa, guar gum, and other gluten-free ingredients.

Is there a gluten-free option in mcdonalds? ›

The items on our menu that are free from ingredients containing gluten include our French Fries, which are cooked in dedicated fryers using a non-hydrogenated vegetable oil; Hash Browns; Fruit Bags; Carrot Sticks and Shaker Side Salad® with Balsamic Dressing; as well as some McFlurry® desserts, such as the Crunchie and ...

Is Chick-Fil-A fries and nuggets gluten-free? ›

Are the fries at Chick-fil-A gluten-free? Yes, the fries at Chick-fil-A are naturally gluten-free. Because they're fried in a separate fryer, there is no risk of cross-contamination with gluten-products. They are safe to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Does Taco Bell have gluten? ›

For example, replacing the flour tortilla in our Chicken Soft Taco for a crunchy taco shell accommodates a made-without-gluten diet. All our food is prepared in a common kitchen with food that contains gluten. Therefore, we DO NOT recommend our made-without-gluten options for customers with celiac disease.

Why is Wendy's grilled chicken not gluten-free? ›

Wendy's says on its website (before it took down the link), “Our grilled chicken is gluten free prior to being sliced and/or placed on the salad/sandwich; however, since the same cutting board is used to cut our breaded chicken breasts, and the same tongs may be used to handle our breaded chicken, gluten cross ...

Do Wendy's chicken nuggets have gluten? ›

Chicken, Nuggets & More

All the chicken options from Wendy's contain gluten, because they are breaded in flour to create the crispy fried texture on the outside. Their chicken sandwiches also contain gluten from the buns that they come on.

Is Wendy's grilled chicken sandwich gluten-free? ›

At Wendy's, you can enjoy a variety of gluten-free options. For example, the Wendy's Grilled Chicken Sandwich is gluten-free as are all of their salads, most of their dressings, and Wendy's signature sandwiches such as the Baconator and the Dave's Single.

Does Subway have gluten free bread? ›

***Our Gluten Free Bread is manufactured in a gluten free facility, however, as other ingredients in our stores contain gluten and products are prepared on shared equipment, our Gluten Free Breads may come in contact with gluten as we prepare your meal.

Is McDonald's grilled chicken gluten-free? ›

Artisan Grilled Chicken Sandwich

Since most of Mickey D's chicken options are breaded, they're a no-go for gluten-free eaters. Skip the bun and sauce, and the grilled chicken (topped with lettuce and tomato) is a smart option. Drizzle with ranch dressing to pump up the flavor sans gluten.

Does English muffin have gluten? ›

Are English muffins gluten free? No, traditional English muffins are not gluten free because they're made with wheat flour. This means the English muffins you find at most restaurants and on grocery store shelves are not safe for those avoiding gluten.

Does Chick-fil-A grilled chicken have gluten? ›

The grilled chicken and grilled chicken nuggets are gluten free and prepared separately from the fried chicken. The waffle fries and hash browns are GF and cooked in canola oil in a separate fryer.

Are the milkshakes at Chick-fil-A gluten-free? ›

Yes, Chick-fil-A milkshakes are gluten-free. According to the chain's allergen information page, there is no wheat, rye, barley, or other gluten-containing ingredients in the milkshakes.

What can I eat for breakfast gluten-free? ›

Gluten-free Meal Ideas - Breakfast
  • Rice Chex or Corn Chex or other gluten-free cereal with milk, nut milks, fresh fruit.
  • Corn tortillas, warmed with scrambled eggs, chopped tomato, and melted cheese.
  • Cream of rice cereal with chopped almonds and milk.
  • Gluten-free waffles with butter and syrup.

Is anything at subway gluten-free? ›

Do All Subways Carry Gluten-Free Bread? While not every Subway has gluten-free bread, many of their stores do offer a gluten-free option. It was introduced as a test in 2011 in certain pilot programs.

Are Doritos gluten-free? ›

Most Doritos flavors aren't gluten-free; the only one that does earn the gluten-free label is the Simply White Organic Cheddar Doritos.

Does sour cream have gluten? ›

Plain sour cream is gluten-free, so it's safe to eat for those on a diet free from gluten.

Can celiacs eat taco shells? ›

Tortilla Ingredients

Corn tortillas: Corn tortillas are naturally gluten-free, making them a perfect option for those with Celiac disease.

Are nacho fries gluten-free at Taco Bell? ›

Are Taco Bell Nacho fries gluten-free? According to the Taco Bell allergen information on their website, their Nacho Fries contain gluten. Therefore, if you're following a gluten-free diet, you'll want to avoid this menu item.

Are all taco chips gluten-free? ›

Tortilla chips are most often made from 100% ground corn, which is naturally gluten-free. They may be made from white, yellow, or blue varieties of corn. Nonetheless, some brands may contain a mix of both corn and wheat flour, meaning they are not gluten-free.

Why is rotisserie chicken not gluten-free? ›

You'd think that the rotisserie chickens sold in grocery stores should be gluten-free. But most are not. The problem is not the chicken, but rather the preparation of the bird. But even if none of these ingredients is used, cross-contamination in the cooking and packaging of the bird may cause exposure to gluten.

Is Burger King grilled chicken gluten-free? ›

Burger King is clear on their site: While there's some food that's gluten-free alone, cross contamination is likely. If you're willing to take the (very high) risk, however, you can get a Whopper without the bun, in addition to the grilled chicken sandwich.

What french fries are gluten-free? ›

If you want truly gluten-free fries, your best bet is Ore-Ida brand. They readily label items gluten-free and they have many options. Even their seasoned varieties are made without gluten-containing ingredients. The next best option is to look for unseasoned French fries, but be sure to always read labels first!

Are Mcdonald's chicken McNuggets gluten-free? ›

Our beloved Chicken McNuggets contain wheat flour in the coating which means they're not gluten free.

Are Sonic french fries gluten-free? ›

The fries and tater tots are gluten-free, according to Sonic's allergen tablet are gluten-free. However as the fries and tater tots are not cooked in a dedicated fryer, those with celiac disease or a high gluten sensitivity should avoid the tater tots and fries all together.

Are Wendy's fries no longer gluten-free? ›

Wendy's french fries do not contain any gluten-containing ingredients, however they are cooked in vegetable oil in fryers that share the same oil with wheat, milk, and fish.

Is all grilled chicken gluten-free? ›

Chicken and Gluten

Fresh chicken doesn't contain any gluten. In fact, all fresh meat, including beef, pork, turkey and seafood, are gluten-free options to add to your diet. The key is to use fresh meat, however, without any added ingredients, according to

Is there a gluten-free chicken? ›

Yes, meat is naturally gluten-free.

Plain, fresh cuts of meat, including beef, poultry (chicken, turkey, etc), rabbit, lamb and fish/seafood meat, are all gluten-free. However, be careful with breaded or floured meats, which typically contain wheat and therefore gluten.

Is Grilled meat gluten-free? ›

Is Barbecue Meat Gluten-Free? Yes, it is gluten-free. Chicken, ribs, steak, brisket; you name the meat, you can have it on a gluten-free diet. Meats are not part of the grain family, so they don't contain any gluten at all.

Is Chick Fil A bread gluten-free? ›

Does Chick-fil-A have a gluten-free bun? Yes! Chick-fil-A offers a gluten-free bun option that can be ordered in place of the regular bun with any of our current sandwich offerings. The bun arrives at our restaurants pre-packaged to prevent gluten cross-contact.

Are sun chips gluten-free? ›

Do SunChips Have Gluten? Yes, Sun Chips do contain gluten and are not safe to eat if you follow a gluten free diet. We know that SunChips are made with Whole Wheat, and the allergen statement on the packaging confirms the presence of gluten in these chips.

Is mayonnaise dairy and gluten-free? ›

Mayonnaise or “mayo” is typically made from naturally gluten-free ingredients: eggs, oil, vinegar, lemon and sometimes mustard/mustard seed or other spices. Mayo brands that have a gluten-free label have passed thorough testing and are safe to eat for people with celiac disease.

Are McDonald's scrambled eggs gluten-free? ›

There are ingredients on our breakfast menu that have no gluten containing ingredients. These include our Hash Browns, Eggs, Back Bacon and our Sausage Patty.

Is Tyson frozen grilled chicken gluten-free? ›

Yes, Tyson Grilled & Ready Pulled Chicken Breast is gluten-free.

Are M&M's gluten-free? ›

Mars Wrigley

The following Mars candies have no gluten-containg ingredients: M&Ms (except pretzel, crispy, and potentially seasonal items) Milky Way Caramel Bars (not the original Milky Way Bar) Snickers Bars.

What rotisserie chicken is gluten-free? ›

Sam's Club offers its Member's Mark rotisserie chicken, which is also labeled gluten-free. The Sam's Club chickens are marinated and seasoned with Lawry's Seasoned Salt, which does not contain gluten ingredients. Freshness Guaranteed - Marketside rotisserie chickens from Walmart do not contain gluten ingredients.

Are Walmart rotisserie chickens gluten-free? ›

Marketside rotisserie chickens (from Walmart) do not contain any gluten ingredients and are considered to be gluten-free. This could change at any time so it is always wise to read over the ingredient label before purchasing.

What is in the gluten-free bread at Chick-fil-A? ›

The Gluten-Free Bun is made with premium ingredients, including ancient grains quinoa and amaranth. It is enriched with vitamins and minerals and is lightly sweetened with molasses and raisins. The Gluten-Free Bun rolls out nationwide following successful tests in three cities across the country in 2016.

Does Chick-fil-A have gluten-free waffle fries? ›

Chick-fil-A fries waffle fries are gluten-free. They do not contain gluten ingredients and are fried in a separate fryer from the breaded chicken items. Always confirm cross-contamination protocols and a dedicated fryer at each individual restaurant before ordering. Are Chick-fil-A hash browns gluten-free?

Is Dr Pepper gluten-free? ›

Does Dr Pepper contain gluten? No, Dr Pepper does not contain gluten, just like all our other products. Note: All products which contain High Fructose Corn Syrup may contain trace amounts of corn gluten. According to the Celiac Sprue Association, corn gluten is not harmful to people with celiac sprue disease.

Does Sonic shakes have gluten? ›

Flavor Add-Ins and Syrups: All flavors are free of gluten EXCEPT for the Cheesecake Syrup. Grilled Items: All grilled foods are gluten free except for the Veggie Burger Patty. Fried Items: All fried items contain gluten EXCEPT for the fries and tots.

What common meals are gluten-free? ›

Best gluten-free foods to try
  • Buckwheat. ...
  • Rice. ...
  • Quinoa. ...
  • Polenta. ...
  • Fresh meat. ...
  • Fresh fish. ...
  • Eggs. ...
  • Milk, cream, crème fraîche and natural yogurt.
Apr 3, 2023

What not to eat when avoiding gluten? ›

Processed foods that often contain gluten
  • Beer, ale, porter, stout (usually contain barley)
  • Breads.
  • Bulgur wheat.
  • Cakes and pies.
  • Candies.
  • Cereals.
  • Communion wafers.
  • Cookies and crackers.

How do you eat out when you're gluten-free? ›

Eating Out: 7 Tips For Staying Gluten-Free
  1. Choose the right kind of eating establishment. ...
  2. Call Ahead. ...
  3. Dine early or late. ...
  4. Clearly explain your dietary restrictions. ...
  5. Ask to have your food prepared on a clean surface with clean utensils. ...
  6. Confirm your order before eating. ...
  7. Thank your server.

Can gluten-free people eat fried chicken? ›

Fried foods, such as french fries, fried chicken, fried fish, and mozzarella sticks usually contain gluten, so you should avoid these foods as well.

Why is fried chicken not gluten-free? ›

Unfortunately, traditional fried chicken does contain gluten. Not only do they coat the chicken in flour, but the fryers in many restaurants become contaminated because they also fry other gluten foods in the fryer.

What chicken is gluten-free? ›

Plain, fresh cuts of meat, including beef, poultry (chicken, turkey, etc), rabbit, lamb and fish/seafood meat, are all gluten-free. However, be careful with breaded or floured meats, which typically contain wheat and therefore gluten.

Is rotisserie chicken gluten-free? ›

While most rotisserie chickens do not contain gluten ingredients, only a few are actually labeled gluten-free. Always use caution; some rotisserie chickens may contain gluten ingredients or wheat in the seasoning mixture. They may also be made in a shared environment with gluten-ingredients.

Is McDonald's Fried Chicken gluten-free? ›

Since most of Mickey D's chicken options are breaded, they're a no-go for gluten-free eaters. Skip the bun and sauce, and the grilled chicken (topped with lettuce and tomato) is a smart option. Drizzle with ranch dressing to pump up the flavor sans gluten.

How much gluten will make a celiac sick? ›

Twenty ppm of gluten is the amount of gluten the FDA allows in a product labeled “gluten-free.” According to the latest research, ingesting 50 mg of gluten per day causes intestinal damage for people with celiac disease.

Does grilled chicken have gluten? ›

Chicken and Gluten

Fresh chicken doesn't contain any gluten. In fact, all fresh meat, including beef, pork, turkey and seafood, are gluten-free options to add to your diet. The key is to use fresh meat, however, without any added ingredients, according to

Is Chick Fil A breaded chicken gluten-free? ›

The chicken nuggets at Chick-fil-A are gluten free. They are also safe against cross contamination because Chick-fil-A has separate deep fryers for gluten free menu items and non gluten free menu items. The chicken nuggets are fried in canola oil which is naturally gluten free.

Are Chinese fried noodles gluten-free? ›

Noodles: Some noodles may be made from 100% rice flour but some may also have wheat flour added, and are often prepared in soy sauce. Only select noodles made with 100% buckwheat flour if you can ensure they are labeled gluten-free. Batter: Chicken, shrimp, and pork are frequently prepared in a wheat-based batter.

Is Walmart rotisserie chicken gluten-free? ›

Marketside rotisserie chickens (from Walmart) do not contain any gluten ingredients and are considered to be gluten-free. This could change at any time so it is always wise to read over the ingredient label before purchasing.

Do mashed potatoes have gluten? ›

The simple answer is yes — potatoes are gluten-free. Gluten is a type of protein found in wheat, rye, barley, and other grains. Potatoes aren't grains, they're a type of starchy vegetable. That's good news for people who can't tolerate gluten because they have celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

Does cream cheese have gluten? ›

Check the ingredient list to make sure. Read more about “modified food starch” in Answers from a Dietitian. Cream cheese is gluten-free.

What foods are usually gluten-free? ›

Many naturally gluten-free foods can be a part of a healthy diet:
  • Fruits and vegetables.
  • Beans, seeds, legumes and nuts in their natural, unprocessed forms.
  • Eggs.
  • Lean, nonprocessed meats, fish and poultry.
  • Most low-fat dairy products.


1. Gluten sensitive? Try these fast food restaurants! | Five Guys + Taco Bell + Chipotle + Chick-fil-A
(Finding Foodtopia)
2. SURPRISING 5 Gluten-Free Fast Food Options | Celiac Disease & Gluten-Free Living
(Gluten Freak)
3. Which Fast Food Chain Has the Best Quality Meat (and which to AVOID)?
(Thomas DeLauer)
4. We Try & Review GLUTEN-FREE Fast Food ~Honest~
(Michel Janse)
5. McDonald's Gluten Free Burger Taste Test
(Furious Pete Vlogs)
6. MY GO-TO RESTAURANTS | Living with Celiac
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Dr. Pierre Goyette

Last Updated: 05/15/2023

Views: 5571

Rating: 5 / 5 (50 voted)

Reviews: 89% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Dr. Pierre Goyette

Birthday: 1998-01-29

Address: Apt. 611 3357 Yong Plain, West Audra, IL 70053

Phone: +5819954278378

Job: Construction Director

Hobby: Embroidery, Creative writing, Shopping, Driving, Stand-up comedy, Coffee roasting, Scrapbooking

Introduction: My name is Dr. Pierre Goyette, I am a enchanting, powerful, jolly, rich, graceful, colorful, zany person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.